Chapman Coach of Year, 11 players net awards

     PORT ANGELES –Andrew Chapman was named Men’s Soccer Coach of the Year, as announced this week by the Northwest Athletic Association of Community Colleges.

     Coach Chapman won the Coach of the Year Award for the third time in his 10-year career, which started at Peninsula.  He also won the honor in 2010 and 2007. Coach Chapman and Coach Anderson both won the West Division Coach of the Year awards this year and Anderson was the NWAACC Coach of the Year in 2011.

     “We have such a hard-working and talented coaching staff, I was very happy for Andrew that he was named Coach of the Year again this year,” said Rick Ross, Director of Athletics. “He oversees both programs and we have a group of eight coaches, including student assistants, who all contributed  to a truly remarkable feat of capturing two championships.”

     The Peninsula men won their second NWAACC championship in 16 years of Pirate soccer history, beating Walla Walla 1-0 in a thrilling championship match, back on Nov. 18. The Pirates also claimed that title in 2010. 

     The PC athletes dominated a number of other post-season awards as well.

     The Pirates had eight players on the West Region All-Star Team, including Daniel Gonzalez (Player of the Year), Alex Martinez, Henrique Noujeimi, Irvin Somera, Erick Urzua, Aaron Jeffery, Morgan Lemus, Guilherme Avelar. All-Region honors went to Omar Ambrocio, Parker Vacura and Mark Cottrell. Gonzalez was also named All-Region by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America.

     The Pirates also did well in the academic realm. Earning spots on the NWAACC All-Academic Team  were Ambrocio, Avelar, Gonzalez and Jeffery. Only sophomores are eligible for that award.