PC Athletics Seeking Hall of Fame Nominees for 2020 Induction

Peninsula College Athletics is now accepting nominations for its third Pirate Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.

The College holds induction ceremonies every other year, honoring athletes, employees or community members who have made outstanding contributions to the college’s athletic program.                  

“The three previous induction classes are made up of so many great people and teams who’ve contributed to our history, it’s always an exciting time for me to learn who our next members will be,” said Rick Ross, Associate Dean for Athletics and Student Life. “We’re moving the nomination process ahead about nine months so that our inductees will have more planning time to be able to attend the ceremony. We have athletes, coaches and community members all over the world, so we want to give them the opportunity to be here to celebrate their achievement.”

Current Hall of Fame members include: Jerry Allen, Mark Amaral, Curt Bagby, Kent Brauninger, Scooter Chapman, Jim Clem, Art Feiro, Jim Lunt, Rose Moorhead, Kathy Murphy-Carey, Bill Quenette, Dr. Wally Sigmar, and three teams, the 2000 men’s basketball team, the 2010 men’s soccer team, and the 1970 men’s basketball team.

Details including criteria and the nomination form are available on the College’s athletic website under “Hall of Fame” (http://athletics.pencol.edu/pc-athletics/hall-of-fame).  The deadline for nominations is Feb. 15. The Pirate Hall of Fame Committee will review the nominations in February and select the 2020 class of inductees, who will be feted in June of 2020. 

For more information contact Rick Ross at rross@pencol.edu